Tags

, , , , , ,

There is a debate on tonight, and I’m watching it. It’s not the debate for the party I support… but that’s only because I don’t support a party. I’m an enlightened Independent, and so much better than all you decisive R’s and D’s (sarcasm font. I agree and disagree with both sides on different issues. In a mostly two party system, I’m an Independent, but if we had more strong parties, I might be a something else).

Nothing like a good ole “Us vs. Them” to get people riled up.

I’m watching because I feel it’s important to be informed; however, I often come away saddened by the spectacle that these events can devolve into. It seems that the people are still anxious for bread and circuses. Nothing like a good ole “Us vs. Them” to get people riled up.

That’s why I wanted to write, and specifically, to write to the Christians.

Hello.
Have I got you?
I’ll only be a few moments.
Promise.

Let us pray for this process instead of be divided by it. Whether or not you like the person in charge right now, 1 Tim 2 says we are to pray “for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness. This is good, and pleases God our Savior, who wants all people to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth…Therefore I want the men everywhere to pray, lifting up holy hands without anger or disputing.”

Therefore I want the men everywhere to pray, lifting up holy hands without anger or disputing.

We have not been living peaceful or quiet in this process. WE have been the circus that world has been watching. Let us be united in prayer. I’m not saying we can’t be passionate about what we believe politically, but we HAVE to be loving in all our interactions with each other, and we are called to be in prayer for our authorities. So, let us be in prayer.

Together.

