Tags

, , , , ,

I realize that this title sounds too good to be true, but I assure you, I’ve been baking this recipe for several months now, and this can be made in an hour – rising included! If you’ve made bread before, you’ll find this recipe beautifully easy. If you’ve never made bread before, I’ll give you some tips and tricks that will help you pull it off like a pro.

One Hour Bread
Makes 2 loaves -aka have a loaf now/freeze a loaf (raw or baked) for later.

5 1/4 cups (1lb & 6.3 oz) white bread flour
2-4 Tbsp. sugar
1 1/2 Tbsp. (rounded) instant yeast
1 1/2 Tbsp. oil
2 cups warm water (between 100-115F)

1. Mix dry ingredients. Add oil and water. Mix for 1 minute. Dough should be sticky. If it is dry, add in a little water.

2. Mix for 5 minutes.

3. Oil the kneading surface and bread pans (if you are using those, but this bread shapes well). You can you use cooking spray, but I prefer shortening. The dough doesn’t stick to my hands or the surface at all. Knead dough briefly until it is smooth (this will only take several turns).

4. Divide dough into two or more pieces and shape. Put on greased cookie sheet or into bread pans. Cover with a dish towel and let rise for 25 minutes.

5. While dough is rising, preheat oven to 350F. Once dough has risen you may make slashes on the top with a sharp knife sprayed with cooking spray.

6. Bake for 25 minutes or until golden brown. Cool completely on wire rack before slicing.

Need More Help?

My friend, Megi, is a professional baker. When I asked her for any tips she might have, she told me to never measure flour- weigh it. The weight will be correct whether you sifted it or not. Since I have a little digital scale, and it’s easier to pour flour into the bowl directly rather than scoop it out, this worked great! I even put the conversion rate on the container so I wouldn’t forget it.

IMG_9432IMG_9435

If you have a mixer, you probably have dough hooks. They are the spiral-y shaped guys that you will want for this recipe. When you first mix in the wet ingredients, mix until there is no dry flour. Then, set your timer for five minutes, your mixer to “knead”, and scrape the bowl occasionally.

IMG_9447

IMG_9450

One of the reasons that I love this recipe is the lack of mess. You don’t have to flour up the counters or tables for kneading. I use the underside of my silicon cutting board as my kneading surface, so clean up is really easy. If you’ve never kneaded bread before, the dough will come out sticky like the first picture. You press it down and away from you, fold it in half back over itself, and then you give it a quarter turn and repeat the process. This bread doesn’t need much before it’s a smooth consistency and ready to go.

IMG_9458

IMG_9459

The dough has risen!

IMG_9463

The dough has risen indeed! Pardon me, my liturgy is showing.

IMG_9465

Now for the hard part…waiting for it to cool!

IMG_9474

 

 

 

