Tags

, , , , ,

In the Bible, people would often refer to God as the God of *insert name of cool Bible person here*. For me it was akin to saying, “you know, the God of Elijah, and not that fish-looking statue thing.”

Then, I went through a dark time. I could’t stop crying. Life seemed overwhelming, and it felt like things were going to stay that way. As I was praying, I thought of my friend, Hannah. She has been through more dark times than anyone I know personally, and it almost killed her. I was privileged to walk with her for some of those times and to see God bring her through them.

God brought Hannah through.

So, I called out to the God of Hannah. I reminded myself of the deep darkness he brought her through, of his faithfulness in an endless situation filled with suffering, and I asked him to be true to his character as he revealed it in her life, to be faithful and bring me through as well. There were not fireworks and a sudden deliverance, but I had an anchor that I could cling to when I thought the storm would overwhelm me. I could cling, not just to the God who had been with me in my past but to the God who had brought my friend through trouble like I was facing now. I could cling to my God, the God of Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, and Hannah.

