Tags

, , , , ,

Have I mentioned that I have OCD? I don’t recall. Either way, I do and it’s mild. My flavor tends toward germs (not dirt. Love me some dirt!) and chemical aversion. In particular, I think of snot as the vector of disease (it’s the favored carrier of many viruses), so you may be surprised to find out that I LOVE to use handkerchiefs. If I could, I would single-handedly bring hankies back. Please, allow me to convince you. Yes, ew, snot. I know, but you don’t understand the power of the hankie.

1. Handkerchiefs hold snot better than facial tissues. I am a snot factory, and when I blow, I can demolish a tissue. I have yet to demolish a hankie.

FullSizeRender 14

Do not be deceived by appearances. This is a powerful piece of fabric.

2. One handkerchief can hold as much snot as a travel packet of tissues. No, really. I’ll show you.

FullSizeRender 5

When you open your hankie, you can get several blows in that top inch.

FullSizeRender

Then fold that top inch down and use the fresh surface for your next act of destruction.

FullSizeRender 4

Whenever your current mucus session is over, simply fold it up for later.

FullSizeRender 18

I use mine all the way down, always on a clean, snot-free surface.

3. A freshly ironed handkerchief is a magical thing. Okay, my husband thinks I’m crazy here, but it’s true. I iron so little that we don’t even have an ironing board, but I love a fresh pressed hankie. They are warm and crisp. Then I lay them on top of a lavender sachet, and they smell like lavender (provided I can smell at the time) whenever I use them. Pure magic.

4. Handkerchiefs save money and are a green option. Buying a pack costs around $10-$20 (I like the bamboo ones, which are on the higher end, but they are so soft). A bulk pack of travel tissues cost around $5, but then you have to buy them over and over. The hankies just get thrown in the wash with my whites.

FullSizeRender 17

Even the kitty approves.

5. Handkerchief is fun to say, and it is even more fun to produce one “with a flourish”. This last one may seem like a bit of a stretch, but go on, say it. Say, “handkerchief.” That felt good didn’t it? Now, go buy yourself some.

